total newbie, going from reef to FW - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DaveKS

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 12:01 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
total newbie, going from reef to FW

Hello everyone!

I'm in the process of breaking down my 150 Gallon reef tank and hoping to converting it into a simple planted tank with tetras and Discus.

I wanted to emulate an environment similar to pictures attached. Can you guys share some good guidelines for beginners to read when starting out?

I currently have an old Aqua Illumination LEDs, could I just modify the white / blue % in order to keep plants?

Are there breeders for Discus and Tetras? With SW fish, I was always dealing with diseases and parasites from wild fish.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	119.4 KB
ID:	883149  

Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed (1).jpg
Views:	7
Size:	344.5 KB
ID:	883151  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 12:28 AM
Planted Member

I found youtube to be a very helpful resource on planted tanks and aquascaping. I follow channels from aquapros, aquarium co-op, and george farmer. All 3 have been great at explaining what they are doing and why but in very different ways. Aquarium co-op is more a resource on fish and fish keeping whereas aquapros and george farmer gets into how to plant, design aquascapes, and keep plants alive.

This forum is probably the next biggest resource. Reading through some of the tank journals in the journal sub forum is extraordinarily helpful. People will go into a lot of detail about how they overcome problems.