Fish for a 75g planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By Oso Polar
  • 1 Post By DaveKS

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 03:12 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fish for a 75g planted tank

Ive never done a tank this size before and i wanted some opinions on the fish i should put in there, and how many. So far i have a list of fish and others i want in the tank.

Betta x1
Corydoras x? (How many do you recommend,
and what kind.)
Tuxedo guppies x?
Sparkling gourami x?

Several dwarf shrimp (amano, cherry, chocolate, ghost)
Nerite snails x?
Pond snails x?
Assassin snails x? (How many to keep pond snails in check?)
I also want some loaches, but im not sure which ones dont eat snails?

Any recommendations are welcome, im pretty new to this, so some help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2019, 04:17 AM
Planted Member

IMHO the best population for big tank is either a very few large fishes (e.g. a pair of oscars + pleco), or a group/school of medium size fish (e.g. discus), or one/few large/medium size fish as a centerpiece + one/few big schools of small fish. May be also just a few big schools of small fish.

IMHO pretty much everything what you've listed is a poor choice for a big tank. A lost opportunity, if you wish. Honestly, I'd just leave all these guppies, bettas and dwarf shrimp where they fit much better - smaller tanks. Basically, the main thing is that in a big tank, only something big alone or big in a group looks really good. Small lonely fishes are just barely noticeable. Betta that looks gorgeous and a centerpiece in a 5 or 10 gallon tank suddenly is just a tiny spot in a 75g.