Fluval Stratum and Snail shells - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By somewhatshocked

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Fluval Stratum and Snail shells

Wondering if anyone has any experience keeping snails in a tank using Fluval Stratum Shrimp substrate?

The snails shells weren't exactly perfect when they arrived but several of them have clearly gotten worse since entering the tank. This is my first time purposely keeping snails and even though I have done a good deal of research on the snails (ramshorn) themselves the affect of Fluval's low PH buffering on their shells is something Im just starting to grasp. I started adding eggshells to the tank a few weeks back but I'm not sure if that's doing anything. The GH does seem to be 2 drops higher than my first attempt at testing GH.

Water Specifics: PH: 6.4-6.5 Ammonia: 0 Nitrite: 0 Nitrate: 10 KH: 1 drop GH: 5 drops

I'm less certain about the KH because it never turns blue for my tank water. On the first drop it has a light yellow tinge.
For comparison my tap water reads between PH: 7.2 and 7.6, KH 4 drops GH 6 drops.

I'm currently running a little experiment to see what the affect of a small piece of cuttlebone is on a small cup of my tanks water. Apparently I need to wait 24-36 hours to test it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 11:57 PM
Obsessed? Maybe

PTrader: (486/100%)
Your problem isn't so much pH. It's hardness. That's why your snails' shells are looking rough. The only way to solve the problem is to bump your hardness up.

Do you have access to something like Salty Shrimp or another brand of remineralizing agent? That would help with hardness and improve life for your snails.