• 1 Post By AguaScape
  • 3 Post By PlantedRich
  • 1 Post By united natures

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How do you get stems to STAY PUT?

Hello! I am new to this amazing hobby. I have gotten over my head already with 3 tanks, 30, 20 and 10 gals. I have to plant all of them. I just don't care for the plastic stuff. I am moving to natural landscape items as well, although it may be a while before I give up my castle! I am blown away by the beauty you people have created in underwater landscapes.

I am just trying to get the plants I bought as bunches of stems to stay planted. I am having a devil of a time. I have CaribSea Super Naturals (super fine sand) in the 10, black aquarium gravel in the 20, and a bit coarser black sand in the 30. I have the best luck in the 20, but still, they pop up and float. I bought some grass, which I love, but they are individual grass stems which will never stay put, so I left them in the metal holder thingy. I use tweezers, fingers, combo, but things still come up. Is there a secret? I have watched several videos, it looks easy. They go in fine, stay when I back away, are floating when I come back. grrr. worst culprits are cabamba, water wisteria, hornwart (this one is fine growing on the surface, but would be nice if I could anchor some of it!). Any help would be appreciated. I am getting ready to super glue them to something like mesh and bury it. Perhaps each stem gets a stone glued to it?
I just got some Eco-Complete to change out the 10 gal, but had a big nitrite spike and am dealing with that, so not sure how long before I can make a big change there.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 02:23 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

@Capers7