New High Tech 26G Office Tank, Need Some Advice and Suggestions - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Grown Ocean

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 10:50 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
New High Tech 26G Office Tank, Need Some Advice and Suggestions

Iím setting up my largest tank to date in my office and need a little advice to make sure I have everything dialed in. Tank is a 26g Cobalt C-Vue all in one with a large sump filled with seeded filter media from an established tank. Running a Finnex planted plus 24/7 8-10 hrs/day at max setting. CO2 is a pressurized set up using a CO2 arts regulator and blasting at 2bps to help the plants get established with intentions to dial it back a bit in a week or so. Substrate is fluval stratum and Carib sea natural sand. Current plants are Monte Carlo (purchased on /r/aqua warp), S. Repens and Dwarf Hair grass (tissue cultures). This is my first time with MC but Iíve had success with DHG and S Repens in the past. Tank is seeded with Nilocg root tabs and I dose Nilocg Thrive 3ish times/week 5ish pumps each dose. There are a few small marbles/pebbles weighing down a few stubborn pieces of MC that will be removed in a week or so once they root for more firmly. CO2 drop checker and cobalt heater are on the way. On to the questions:

Is the finnex planted plus 24/7 sufficient lighting for this tank? Iím more than happy to supplement but I donít want to over do it as Iíve had balance and algae issues in previous tanks.

Iím wanting to stock either red neon rainbows(pseudomugli luminatus) or Ornate glass tetras(Trochilocharax ornatus) as a mid level shoaling/dither fish, either one or two Rams or Apistos (can I have two? What species would you recommend?) and possibly a small school or Pygmy Cories(would they be two much? Are they compatible with the other livestock?), as well as shrimps and possibly nerites. Any other live stock suggestions?