New 180G build - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Stiker
  • 1 Post By Discusluv

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 12:17 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hello,
I am going to be rescaping and changing the fish around in my 180G tank (6x2x2ft with a 4ft sump). I am new to a planted tank so don't have a lot of knowledge when it comes to it but I have extensive knowledge in regards to fish keeping.

The big part of it which I guess will affect other decisions is that of my stocking which I would like to include the following fish, some of which is already have growing out in a 4ft tank:
-10 Geophagus Tapajos sp. Red Head (Currently around 2 inches max) (I may reduce the school as they grow out)
-2 Keyhole Cichlids
-7 Dianema Urostriatum group OR a school of Corydoras (not sure of what species or numbers)
-4 Pseudohemiodon Lamina
-Peppermint Bristlenose catfish or Whiptail Catfish or possibly a mix of the two (not sure of what species or numbers)
-Lemon Tetras (not sure on numbers)
If anyone has any suggestions on stocking that would be greatly appreciated. Do keep in mind I plan to keep it fish from South America.

The big part for me is that I would love to include the Geophagus in this tank. My concern though is them uprooting plants. I hope that I am able to make this work and create a heavily planted tank in the long run I have read you can put some small rocks/stones around the base of the plant until they get their root system well established.