Pests!!! - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mike A.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 01:11 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hey Everyone,

I have been posting a lot on here, and so far everyone has been so helpful! I really appreciate it.

So my tank is finally cycled. I’m supper excited. However I did run into some unexpected problems... freaking pests! 3 kind that I can tell.

1. Little snails, almost transparent. Maybe about 2mm long.

2. Seed Shrimp. They look like fruit flies filling my tank.

3. Worms. I believe they are detritus worms.

I’m a little angry about all that, mostly because I didn’t bleach dip them. I’m new to the hobby, and that seemed to schetchy. I figured being in such a high ammonia environment would kill off any pest.

Anyway, I didn’t let that stop me from stocking my tank.

I have 1 female Betta, an Oto catfish, and 3 assassin snails.

Will this get rid of my pest problem?

I know the assassins will get rid of the pest snails. I was told by the pet store there is a chance they will eat the Seed Shrimp eggs.

The Cat fish will eat the detritus, preventing the worms.

I’m hoping one of the three have a taste for seed shrimp, or detritus worms

The alternative is Snail Zap. I’d have to remove my assassins. But I really don’t want to put my new fish threw that. Just seems like unneeded stress on new fish, that are in a new tank.

What do you guys think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 01:22 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (36/100%)
IMO the 'pests' are a natural and good part of the aquatic ecosystem. I don't mind them in the tank as they help clean up, and having a massive excess of them means there's an imbalance in the tank (too much dead plant matter, over feeding, too much diatoms (brown algae)). Removing the excess food for them will make their numbers go down. They do not hurt fish, shrimp, desired pet snails (like nerite).