2Likes
  • 1 Post By tetra120
  • 1 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 01:43 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
36" or 48" tank?

I'm in the process of researching planted aquariums. I'm a newbie, so I'm trying to figure out what's involved and hopefully making sure I'm successful.

I've been going back and forth on what size tank to get. I've been looking at 36" and 48" tanks. I have room for either. They range from 44 gal up to about 72 gal depending on which tank and dimensions.

I realize the larger tank will have higher start up and operating costs. I'm leaning that way as (maybe incorrectly) I feel it might give me more options for fish to stock the tank. It seems maintenance wouldn't be appreciably more on the larger tank? Are there other aspects of the larger tank (or smaller) that I am not considering?

I"m sure other people have gone through this thought process. Any regrets on the size you picked? Happy with the size you picked for some particular reason? At least in the short term, this will likely be my only tank so I'd like it to be one that I can grow into and be happy with long term

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 02:35 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yo_eddy View Post
I'm in the process of researching planted aquariums. I'm a newbie, so I'm trying to figure out what's involved and hopefully making sure I'm successful.

I've been going back and forth on what size tank to get. I've been looking at 36" and 48" tanks. I have room for either. They range from 44 gal up to about 72 gal depending on which tank and dimensions.