• 1 Post By Grobbins48
  • 1 Post By lpsouth1978
  • 1 Post By redneck joe
  • 2 Post By DaveKS

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Preparing for a Blackwater System. Thought welcome!

I have been keeping fish for roughly 25 years, but have focused on saltwater reef systems for the 10-15 years. Recently, I have started looking into trying something new and came across blackwater systems, so I am looking into, and preparing, to start up a blackwater amazon system. The plan so far is as follows:

120g 60"x18" aquarium
2 x Fluval 306/406 w/spraybars
2 x Emperor Penguin 400B HOB filters
Indian almond leaves
Thin layer of sand
Spider and/or manzanita driftwood
a few stones/rocks
Fluval 406's will be primarily for biological media
Bio-wheel filters for peat and other chemical filtration (as needed)

Stocking: (still working on a complete list)
Angels
Cardinal tetras
Silver Dollars (maybe)
Rosbaras
Cory Cats

Any other suggestions or ideas would be welcomed. I had also considered making this bare bottom and doing a blackwater Discus tank, but that seems like a lot to take on (since I have never done blackwater or Discus). I would love to have a nice school of Discus some day!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 04:30 PM
Algae Grower

You don't mention plants, but one assumes there will be some since you're posting in this forum. Silver Dollars will eat all of them, immediately. All kinds.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 05:18 PM
Wannabe Guru

The only plants I use in my blackwater setup are floating plants- Amazon Frogbit and Dwarf Water Lettuce. I do this to keep shadowed parts of the tank, give fry a place (and chance) to survive, and it keeps my Nitrates at zero (0).