Can I get a sanity check on my first aquarium setup? - The Planted Tank Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Post Can I get a sanity check on my first aquarium setup?

Hello,

I'm starting my first fish tank and decided to go med-tech nano-planted (ferts med-high light). I'm new to the hobby, but I'm an obsessive researcher and hobby collector (I have too many hobbies, hence choosing nano to save a bit of $$). I have everything I need (I think) but I've kinda hit a mental wall. I just need a bit of reassurance that I have everything ready to go and I have a few last minute questions. Feel free to give your opinions as well.

Ok, here's what I got:

Equipment
  • Top-fin 5.5g (16.2 x 8.4 x 10.9) - I removed the rim, tossed the lid and light, but kept the HOB filter which I packed with 30ppi filter foam to add more biological (and mechanical?) filtration.
  • Chihiros A401 LED (40CM) - This should give me a nice range of available par values since my tank is so shallow and it has a dimmer (although the lowest setting flickers and is basically useless).
  • 25W heater (got spooked at 50W heaters in 5gal tanks malfunctioning and ramping to 90F+ and cooking fish)
  • Digital and "mercury" thermometers
  • Driftwood (going for a "natural" look)
  • Aquascaping scissors, tweezers and substrate spatula

I intend to add a HOB refugium in the future just because I think it's a cool concept to improve bio-filtration.

Plants
I still haven't made a final shopping list, but I think I'm going to attempt to grow the following:
  • Carpet/lowMonte carlo and/or Marsilea hirsuta as main carpet with small patches of Eleocharis parvula and s. repens in areas where the driftwood meets the substrate
  • On driftwood Taxiphyllum barbieri and/or taiwan moss with a bucephalandra red and an anubias nana petite in the driftwood holes
  • Background/corner Lindernia rotundifolia