Tank cycling...without the tank? - The Planted Tank Forum
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Tank cycling...without the tank?

Hey everyone! This is my first post here as I'm just getting into the hobby. The tank I ordered is currently on back order with no estimated ship date. I'm thinking about trying to grow beneficial bacteria in a mason jar so that the tank "fully-cycled" when it arrives. My plan is to put some filter media in the bottom of the jar, use something like tetra safe start, and feed it some ammonia drops or decaying veggies? My chief concern is aeration. What thoughts do you have to make my experiment a success? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 11:31 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

If you have a large bucket, which is very useful to have anyway, you can run the filter in that for a while to give the BB a head start. Even better, you could put some of the substrate in there so that the beneficial bacteria can take root in that too. The tank still won't be fully cycled when you first add the filter, but it should help a lot.

I think it would be difficult to aerate a mason jar and there's not much water volume so ammonia would spike very quickly, potentially killing off all the bacteria that you're working hard to grow.
Immortal1, AbbeysDad and AguaScape like this.

Journal
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2019, 03:05 PM
Wannabe Guru