A New take on an old idea...? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By AbbeysDad

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 02:49 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
A New take on an old idea...?

So, I'm pretty new to the whole planted aspect to this hobby, but for as long as I can remember I've wanted to try it. I bought a little ten gallon tank and have been hard at it for the last two weeks. During that time, I've been pouring over this forum and other sources. I highly enjoyed the "10 years of stumbling" by ipkiss and many others. Lots of wonderful insight here.
I've recently returned to the aquaria hobby after a number of years on hiatus. Due to a financial crunch, I've been looking at starting a DIY co2 setup. Last night I ran across John Levasseur's Treatise on DIY co2 systems for Freshwater-planted aquaria. In that paper, he mentions the use of a co2 bell as a method of infusing the gas into the water. I've also seen where many people have also mentioned using carbonated water to get co2 into their systems. Now my little tank has no animals of any kind just yet. The general assumption is that starting a DIY system will take 3 days to build up enough gas to start infusing itself in the tank.
In the interim, I am in desparate need of co2 as my plants are on their way downhill fast. (You don't have to look too closely to see my inexperience showing through here. &#x1f609