Do you quarantine your plants? - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By n-seine

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 11:57 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do you quarantine your plants?

Do you quarantine your plants for pests? if so how? Pest snails and worms have been driving me bug O lately. I've thought about starting a quarantine process and bleach dipping plants. Except I don't know how the plants will react to being bleach dipped. Crypts seem to melt easy as it is let alone bleach dipping them. I'm afraid if I bleach dip my crypts they'll melt.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 12:04 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Crypts will definitely melt with bleach. Some do quarantine plants, I have in the past when I buy from an unknown seller. These days I tend to order plants in to my LFS who I trust. I've been buying from them for over 3 years and have never found any snails. They are pesticide free too!

If you don't want to use bleach, you could look into alum or potassium permanganate as suitable alternatives.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ADA mini M low tech with Cherry Shrimp and Dwarf Puffers
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

I have to order most of my plants online. I have some potassium permanganate but I've heard it isn't 100%. I haven't tried it yet. I'm just sick of pests.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-21-2018, 12:22 PM
Planted Member