New and frustrated- help? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-26-2018, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New and frustrated- help?

I'm new to planted tanks, not to aquariums. I've got a good handle on nitrogen cycle, but that's about it.

Few weeks ago I decided to replace gravel and do controsoil and try a planted tank.

I'm hating the soil. Plants won't stay down (monte carlo mostly) and the soil keeps dropping my ph too low. (6.3-4) Would it be insane to replace the soil with sand already? I think I prefer and inert substrate so that I can control water parameters myself. I have to use 100% RO because we don't have a single bypass faucet and have a softener.

Also g=dealing with a lot of algae. I know I don't have the lighting, co2 and ferts balanced, but honestly have no idea how to balance them.

So, switch to sand or stick it out? And, is there a "dummies guide to balancing a planted tank"?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-26-2018, 05:13 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracyree View Post
I'm new to planted tanks, not to aquariums. I've got a good handle on nitrogen cycle, but that's about it.

Few weeks ago I decided to replace gravel and do controsoil and try a planted tank.

I'm hating the soil. Plants won't stay down (monte carlo mostly) and the soil keeps dropping my ph too low. (6.3-4) Would it be insane to replace the soil with sand already? I think I prefer and inert substrate so that I can control water parameters myself. I have to use 100% RO because we don't have a single bypass faucet and have a softener.

Also g=dealing with a lot of algae. I know I don't have the lighting, co2 and ferts balanced, but honestly have no idea how to balance them.

So, switch to sand or stick it out? And, is there a "dummies guide to balancing a planted tank"?
The soil is supposed to do that to the pH. Nothing wrong with 6.4 / 6.3