Help and advice - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By magictorch

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2018, 07:05 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Help and advice

Hi everyone,

I have recently inherited a tropical fish tank after a bereavement. I am a real novice and have been spending the last week or so trying to fathom out what I am doing. I really want to keep the tank going and I must say, as far as my untrained eye can tell, the fish are happy. However I don't have anyone I can ask for advice so I thought I would say hello on here and explain my concerns. I have read so many posts with varying views on over stocked tanks and I am worried that I have inherited just that and want to know what I should do for the best. I have measured the tank as 60cm length, 32cm width and 40cm depth. After some googling I have identified the following:

3 x Sailfin Mollys (Female) - I am not 100% sure I've got this breed right but I am fairly confident.
3 x Balloon Mollys (Female)

4 x Guppies (Male)
4 x Otocinclus
4 x Corydoras

There are 11 very small mollys, between 1cm and 2cms maximum in length... I have no idea how old they are or how they got there. They don't resemble guppies at all so I am pretty sure they are not related although one of the guppys seems a bit flirty with what I think is a Sailfin Molly female - who is so much bigger than him (about 8cm in length). He seems to shimmy in front of her although a couple of times he has got close to her face so I another concern is that he is hurting her. Any ideas?

My Dad had two tanks - although one was empty when he died but I have kept it. The empty one is almost identical in size. Without being able to talk to Dad and understand how he worked things, I am a little stuck.