Assistance 55 gal issue - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Assistance 55 gal issue

Hello all,
I am in the need of some assistance, I currently have a 55gal planted aquarium. I have 9 Betta's, 8 Penguin Tetra, 10 Ember Tetra, 10 Harlequin Rasbora, 2 albino loach. I just started using Co2 for some carpet I am trying to do, planted some dwarf grass, and the other plants love the Co2. This morning I lost one of my Penguin Tetra, when I came home from work I found two more. I am not sure what is happening here. I did notice the other night the Penguin Tetra were very aggressive with each other. I was going to remove them the next day but then they were all fine. I did check of my water all is good, I did a 20% water change today. the only thing I can think of is the Co2, I am new with it but have been running it with at least one bubble per sec. Any assistance would be great
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-17-2018, 09:02 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
How are you checking your CO2 levels? Drop checker? pH test?
How many hours are you running your CO2? A lot of us have it come on 1 hour before lights on, and shut off 1 hour before lights off.
Do you have plenty of surface agitation to help with air exchange?

What is your KH?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-18-2018, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I am very new to the Co2, I got a Fluval Pressurized CO2 Kit Plants & Planted Aquariums Bracket 95g 3.3oz. Since it is not be set up on a timer, I just turn on when I get home from work. So I may come on an hour or two after the lights come on. No drop checker, and PH level is 7.5. So as far as drop checker and other things nags I may need I am open for any suggestions. Any assistance is greatly appreciated....

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-18-2018, 02:02 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)