Can’t get my head around this Co2 business! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Abi
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Can someone please help, I’m new to the whole Co2 thing and it’s starting to take over my life! I’m watching the plants melt, the hair algae grow and I’m constantly worried about poisoning fish with co2.
I have a 123 litre tank with lots of plants, gravel substrate. canister Co2 with solenoid and ceramic diffuser, 2x 28w jewel strip lights with reflectors, (1 natural 1 colour) and an assortment of fish. I had the co2 set to be on for 6 hrs, same with the lights- the co2 comes in 1 hr before the lights and goes off 1hr before. I had to reduce the co2 slightly as fish had a bad reaction after I switched from ladder diffuser to ceramic, hence my paranoia about killing them. My drop checker is showing line green which I understand is good, but in the morning it’s always dark green, almost blue. My ph is 7.6, dropping to 6.6 during co2 period,from what I’ve read that’s good so why is the algae thriving and the plants suffering? I’m dosing with a complete fertiliser weekly, have good surface agitation from the filter outlet and am redirecting the co2 bubbles with a power head, but I’m seeing black spots on some leaves now, can anyone help advise where I’m going wrong?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 07:50 PM
Planted Tank Guru

If you are getting a 1.0 drop that is good. Are you getting that drop within the hour that it is on before the lights?

"No Ice? Just Freeze Some Water"

My 30g (25g after learning how a tape measure works) Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-2018, 07:51 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)