Fertilized Tanks and WCs - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fertilized Tanks and WCs

I've never used fertilizers before and used to change 20% of my water approx. once every two weeks in my fish tanks. Reading on this forum suggests that, with a fertilized tank, I should be changing 50% every week.

What are the harmful chemicals that these big WCs are designed to remove? It's not nitrates, right? Are there actually tests you can do on the level of these chemicals in your water?

Is there any way to gauge the percent and frequency of WCs that are needed based on your level of fertilization? My plan is to dose Pfertz M, N and probably P about twice a week. Do I need to do a weekly 50%?

Thanks for the guidance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 06:35 PM
Planted Member