Planning a Future Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2011, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Planning a Future Tank

I'm in the early stages of planning a DIY tank and wanted to throw up a thread to help get ideas in the planning. I can't find the tank shape I want, so that is why I am looking at doing it myself; plus I am the type that goes nuts without having a project around the house. So this should kill a lot of time and keep me entertained for a while. This is not a try and save me some cash type of thing. I'm new to planted tanks, but not aquariums. I used to keep lots of quariums with fish when I was young and have just gotten back to the hobby after 10+ years.

Here are my goals:
- Clean look inside and out. I plan to hide everything going into or out of the tank.
- The tank is going to be centered around a betta (girlfriend wants a betta) so I want to pick everything faune/plant wise to come from Asia.
- Low tech, I want to have a light, a canister filter and heater. I will budge on this if I get the impression I can't meet my goals.

I'm starting out small, for learning purposes and so my girlfriend doesn't kill me. I also want a tank deep enough that plants can grow tall, so I am planning on making a 12"x12"x18" tall cube. I may go a little taller, 20" or so. My thoughts are if I keep surface disruptions to a minimum and have a deep tank, this will lessen CO2 disprussion and act sort of like a nature CO2 reactor from the fish breathing. Is there a flaw in this logic?

For fish there will be one male betta splenda, a few Oto, couple botia loaches, and some sort of schooler (White Cloud Mountain Minnows?). Loach will clean the bottom. The Oto's will keep the plants clean, this is the one spot I plan on bending the Asia fauna rule because shrimp and snails are not for me.