1Likes
  • 2 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 04:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How to disperse CO2 in a 22g long tank?

Hi All,

Been a lurker for a while, but just joined so I can post this question. I'm just getting started with aquascaping and need some help. Here's my setup:

Mr. Aqua low iron 22g long tank (36"x12"x12")
Eheim 250 filter (not sure if I'm sticking with stock tubes or going with lily tubes yet)
Hydor 200w inline heater
Finnex Planted Plus 24/7 CC Customizable light
Some type of CO2 system (looking at the GLA GRO series with a 5 or 10lb tank)
Drop checker to manage CO2 levels (with solenoid timer I assume)

Question is regarding the CO2.

If I get a glass diffuser (something like the ADA one), do I need to worry about getting those bubbles to disperse around the tank properly? Or will the Eheim send them swimming in its current adequately enough for my plant life? Is placing the diffuser near or far from the output tube a must?

I realize my tank is somewhat small, but the shallow depth has me worried that the bubbles will escape the top before they can get to the full three foot length of the tank. My plant life will be typical Iwakumi - carpet (HC-style perhaps), with red and green stem plants and some moss (all of this is still up in the air, but that's the plan for now - I want to keep it simple this first go around).

Any advice? Do I need a Hydor circulator maybe? Am I over thinking this?

Thanks in advance!
Tim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-18-2018, 05:10 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (2/100%)
You can either get an inline, or put the glass diffuser over an intake/circulator. Circulator being the cheaper method

PS:dont use the spray bar unless its spraying towards the other side. Use the hose instead and point it towards the far end.

20L Blue Dream
Eheim 2213
Matheson 3510
Finnex Planted +