First attempt at a planted tank, a few Q's, history, and my situation... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 04-05-2018, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy First attempt at a planted tank, a few Q's, history, and my situation...

...But first a quick summary of my situation...

History:
I've owned and ran a 55 Gallon non-planted tank with mostly cichlids and wild caught local sunfish in them for about 15 years (since high school). I had to break that tank down and put it away for storage. I just moved to near center city Philadelphia for my job and I just set up a 16 gallon bow front about 4 months ago. This is my first attempt at a planted tank. I am using the stock Aqueon HOB filter, I've removed all the activated carbon and have replaced it with ceramic media and adapted an intake sponge cover (for a different filter) with fishing line to fit the intake. I also got my hands on 2 free sponge filters from a friend, so I threw those in there as well using an Eheim air pump, some T-connectors, and also hooked up the Eheim air diffuser.

Current:
-My new 16 gallon tank had cycled for about 3 weeks with 24/7 low light, and stocked only with about 10 Red Cherry Shrimp and I left food to rot in the tank.
-Fast forward to the end of cycling and 3 shrimp are left alive.
-I plant my tank with wysteria, micro sword, rotala nanjenshan, and also swap out the stock Aqueon fluorescent hood light with a Finnex Ray2. Plants were contaminated with snail eggs, infestation of snails ensued, I treated the tank with "No Planaria" to eradicate the snails.
-Through the process of snail eradication, daily 20% water changes to deal with ammonia spikes were necessary with light gravel vacuum to pick up dead snail parts followed by several daily 50% water changes to remove the medication from the water.
-10 more RCS , 1 nerite snail, and 5 ottocinclus were added for a total of 13 RCS, 1 snail, and 5 ottos.