New to the Planted world, questions with Co2 - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By houseofcards
  • 4 Post By Deanna

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 05:17 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hello!
I am new to the Planted tanks after lots of years with African Cichlids. I am setting up a 30 gal fully planted tank. I have a Marineland Penguin 350 (with my own media) with a fluval heater. As a substrate I used Flourite. For lights I am running the two LED strips that came with the tank (better lights will come soon). Some of the plants I have inside the tank are Java moss, Monte Carlo, Proserpinaca Palustris, an Anubia and a couple more I can't remember the name. I decided to set up a DIY Co2 kit with citric acid and baking soda, it is currently set at 1 bps. Should I increase my bubble count? How can I know what is safe and what is not once I add fish to my tank? Is there a more exact method than a drop checker? Thanks for all the help.

I am also dosing Flourish 3-4 times a week on small doses, is that too much?? Or is this amount safe?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2BE0672A-1C81-400B-9E96-6E046FD3EB14_1522862198591.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	842561  

Last edited by Darkblade48; 04-05-2018 at 08:44 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 05:27 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I would simply cut your 4 KH solution with equal parts distilled water to give a reading of approximately 15 ppm when the checker is in the green. This should be a safe level for 24/7 diffusion, as long as you have decent surface agitation.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 06:11 PM
Banned

PTrader: (73/100%)