Treating ich - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Orichid123

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-01-2018, 09:58 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Treating ich

Hey everyone!

I am relatively new to keeping fish. I started with a 20g 4 months ago and now I have a 75😂.
In my 75g I have 12 neon tetras, 12 fancy guppies, a ton of ghost shrimp, 4 mystery snails, 3 gold algae eaters, a pleco, 2 bumblebee gobies and 2 angel fish. I have a magnum 350 canister filter and an emperor 400 HTB filter running in this tank. I check the water regularly and I always have 0 ammonia/nitrite and maybe 5ppm nitrate.

OUT OF THE BLUE a guppy got ich and I freaked out. I read everything I could about treating it and “learned” that if one fish has it they all have it? So I put them all in a 20g hospital tank and dosed the water with salt and API super ich cure, and raised the temp to 86 yesterday. Now I have lost 5 tetras, and one of my angel fish and I have no clue why. It’s honestly frustrating because I thought I did everything right.

Any advice is welcome!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-01-2018, 10:31 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Sorry about the loss but there are several times when we get caught in the smaller details.
So let's do a soup to nuts on the ich as it sounds like the treatment left out the details.
Ich has three stages. one is a hard shell on the fish which we see but have a hard time killing. it is feeding on the fish and that means making a hole. Keep that in mind for later. Second the ich falls off and lays on the bottom in a hard shell while it multiplies. Hard to kill then, too. But when it does burst out to be free floating without protection, it dies pretty easy.