Newbie question getting started - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-24-2018, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie question getting started

Looking for alittle help if somebody can push me in the right direction.
I just got put on a new schedule for work well I’ll be on/off for two months at a time. I’m home now and want to get this 55gal take I have setup for my kids. What would be a good quick start up where I can have everything moderately going before I leave. Goal for the tank is to be low tech with some beginner plants, shrimp and some fish. Mostly this will be my kids tank.
Any help would be much appreciated. This is my first freshwater tank but have had saltwater tanks so I’m really new to the start up procedures for a planted tank.

Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-24-2018, 06:37 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Nothing really good comes out of a "quick" start up but dead fish and algae blooms. I'd focus on getting the tank cycled first and foremost. It's best to get as many plants in there as possible to speed this process. Fishless cycling is the best way to start. You can search it to learn more but here's the basic idea: You can use fish food pellets or pure "janitor grade" ammonia for this. Try to keep ammonia levels around 2 ppm for the first couple weeks. Then start testing for nitrites, then finally nitrates. This is the process in how nitrifying bacteria works. First order bacteria converts ammonia to nitrites and the second order bacteria will convert the nitrites into nitrates. Once you get 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite readings and at least some level of nitrates, your cycle will be finished. You'll need to get a API freshwater master kit to monitor all of this.