Is a 12 hour photoperiod okay? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is a 12 hour photoperiod okay?

Hello I was wondering if keeping the lights on for 12 hours is okay, I was also wondering if the strength of your lighting affects your photoperiod as well. Im just starting out and all I have in there is some elodea. I thought the only reason to have a shorter photoperoid was to control algae but now that I think about it since I have no co2 going would it be better have it on for less time to bring co2 levels back up? I think the only other plant I am going to add is hornwort. This is just going to be a tank for my newts so im just looking for plants that will help keep the water clean and promote newt spawning. Thank you for your time.

EDIT: I have had this going for a few days now, The elodea are pearling and I see no algea but im not sure if that will last haha.

Last edited by Aesyir; 03-19-2018 at 01:33 AM. Reason: add more info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 01:53 AM

PTrader: (3/100%)
12 hours is definitely a bit long, even if you have low lighting. I would perhaps use around 8-10 hours, and monitor to see if there is an algae (and adjust accordingly)

Anthony

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Would it be okay to change the time all at once or gradually do it.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 02:28 AM
Planted Tank Guru