Newbie needs help with KH Buffer - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-08-2011, 05:09 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie needs help with KH Buffer

I am brand new to the exciting world of true planted tanks. Have had a few live plants before, but have never paid them much mind or had a ton of success. Now I have a bit over 3 watts per gallon, a CO2 injector and about $100 of plants of various heights. Should be a good adventure.

When I started, my KH was 3 degrees. I added one dose of Seachem Alkaline Buffer (2 teaspoons for my 20 Gallon tank), which raised my KH to 9 degrees. I then started injecting CO2 and was using the PH/KH grids to determine how much CO2 I have in my tank.

As I read more, I am beginning to wonder if adding the buffer has made those grids inaccurate. If it has, and adding the buffer was a stupid idea, I have a couple of questions. 1) how do I know what my CO2 level is now? 2) how should I have increased my KH? 3) are there long term problems for my tank that having added the Alkaline Buffer will create? 4) If so, how do I fix my mistake?

FWIW, my new plants are doing great (no fish yet). Lots of new growth, significant pearling, and no algae after almost a week (I know that's not very long). Once I stabilize my PH (it's still swinging from 6.8 to 7.2 or 7.4), I'll get some goldfish to cycle the tank.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-08-2011, 05:33 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (16/100%)
Ok first, you nullified the charts by adding any buffer. They aren't very accurate to begin with anyway, so don't feel bad. A better way to determine the amount of co2 in your tank is to purchase a drop checker. Make sure you use 4dkH water with it, regardless of what the instructions say. It turns into a fancy pH meter without it.