New to the forum, would love some input. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-2011, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to the forum, would love some input.

Well, I am brand new to theplantedtank, but not to the hobby as a whole. I have had aquariums in one form or another (FW, SW, reef) for about 20 years. I have never had a “planted” tank. I’ve had live plants plunked into some gravel, but never a tank set-up with plants as the focus or with them thriving. I am excited about starting one up. Right now I am in the planning stages and would love to get some feedback from the folks on this forum.
In my house, I am limited to a 30X18” footprint and have a liking for tall tanks, so was thinking about a 56 gallon column tank (30x18x24). My questions about this tank are 1) will the center brace cause a distracting shadow? And 2) will my lighting be sufficient to have light loving species. I currently have a retrofit set-up for my 20G reef that I will be using on my new tank. It has 2 24” T5HO bulbs and 2 65W CF bulbs. This is not a ton of light for a reef, but based on what I have been reading, it seems like it could work for plants.
Additionally, how much flow is appropriate in a planted tank. I have plans to use some equipment I already have, but don’t know what size (gph) is appropriate for filtration/flow.
Thanks for all of the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-2011, 04:21 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
The only one I can answer is the center brace. Just glancing in my 36 gal tank, you do not see the shadow fro the brace, but my fish have learned that it is not moving anywhere, and they tend to spend some rest time lined up under it lol. It can get a bit distracting with fish like Dwarf Neon Rainbows, which only really show color under light. My plants do not seem to mind it.