Newbie to planted aquarium--lots of questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-05-2011, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Newbie to planted aquarium--lots of questions

Hello all. I'm a newbie to planted tanks, but have had many freshwater tanks for 16 years, and have bred Kribs, livebearers, and had Rams lay eggs (too hard/alkaline of water for them to hatch though). I've decided to do something different, and try a planted tank.

The aquarium is a 29 gallon, and my light is going to be a 24"-30" adjustable T5 HO 4X24 watts (96 total watts) with 6500K light.

So here are my questions...answer one or all, either way I would be super grateful. I need as many opinions as possible. Just as an FYI, I have hard, alkaline water (not sure on the exact parameters yet as I haven't checked them in awhile, but usually around 8.0 pH and very hard).

1) Filter is an Rena XP2 canister--is that ok?

2) Substrate: I'd like to get 2 bags of EcoComplete and then put a layer of gravel on top (like the natural looking rocks you can get at Walmart...I think they're 10 lb. bags). Is this going to work? And would getting extra latrite make it any more beneficial to the plants?

3) Plants: I'm looking at a bunch, but I'd like opinions on what worked best for you and any hints that you used to get them to grow the best for you. Also, which ones are the most "bang for your buck"? How many of each plant would you recommend buying if this was your tank?
Crypt wendtii
Corkscrew Val/regular Val
Dwarf hairgrass
Baby tears
Anubias barteri
Java fern
Java moss
Water wisteria
Giant hygro
Hygrophilia polysperma
Crypt spiralis
Anubias congensis

4) For the ferts, I am looking at the Ultimate Fert Package from RootMedic for $90 (package explained below). What are the best ferts in your opinion?
1 x 500 ml bottle of Liquid Macro Fertilizer
1 x 500 ml bottle of Liquid Micro Fertilizer