First Time Caller...long time listener - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-05-2011, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
First Time Caller...long time listener

Greeting fellow aquarium junkies.
So this is my first time actually posting but I've been "lurking about" getting ideas reading posts. I do have a meager 55 gallon set up and was running a fairly well established planted set up with a "Glo" T5 High output, but apparently i got a defective light and was unable to replace the entire unit in time. I pretty much lost everything in there. =(
After reading the forums I noticed that there was a "marketplace" of people willing to trade or sell extra clippings they had, yet, after reading through many of the forum topics I haven't been able to locate "the marketplace" hence dropping a post here.
I'm primarily looking for plants to rebuild an asethitically pleasing aquascape that will provide my fancy tail guppy fry a decent place to breed and hide.
As well as some decent driftwood. If you guys could respond or shoot me a PM with some prices to mull over I'd be very happy.

There are a couple of other questions I have as well.

1) Thinking of doing a MAJOR aquascaping overhaul after seeing some pics on here. You guys have some AWESOME tanks and I'm very jealous. =) with the purchase of substrate or laterite, and redoing the plants, what do i do with my fish and amano shrimp while I wait for the tank to settle and establish again?

2) Im looking at purchasing the Python series tank cleaning system. Have any of you had experience with it and give me your thoughts? How would this work with a planted tank environment without causing to much agitation and stress to the already established plants?