First planted tank ADA mini L - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 01-02-2011, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First planted tank ADA mini L

So basically I'm really new to the whole planted aquarium scene, but I broke down my nanoreef and decided I HAD to have a planted tank. I'm looking for some advice on how to start it up. What did you guys wish you did differently the first time around? Any advice is appreciated

Here's what I have so far:

ADA mini L cube garden
Ryuoh stones
Home depot 27w full spectrum desk lamp for dry start and an archaea 36w Clip on for once the tank is filled
Lily pipes for filter
Paintball Co2 setup(Co2 regulator with solenoid, 20oz paintball tank, adapter, and )
Eheim 2213 canister filter
ADA aquasoil amazonia I
Hydor in line heater
DIY stand(or I guess I should say DIB do-it-by boyfriend)

Planted yesterday with 7 pots of HC and I plan on doing the dry start method for several weeks.

Let me know what you guys think and if you have any advice about the DSM. Right now I have it covered with Saran wrap with the water level right at/below the top of the substrate.

Last edited by mandaleigh2; 01-18-2011 at 06:58 PM. Reason: New updates
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 01:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Lighting for DSM

What does everyone think about lighting for a dry start method with HC? I planned on using my 27w desk lamp for the whole dry start, but my archaea 36w comes tomorrow. Which light should I use?
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 01:24 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (24/100%)
Well first let me say looks great so far, and in my opinion i would probably use the 36W.
When i started my shrimp tank i was using the stock 24w light and growth was sooooooo slow, then i upped to 36w and within days i was seeing a burst of growth.

post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 01-19-2011, 02:10 AM
Algae Grower