ok, so what can ya tell me about water ro vs tap and additives - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 04:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
ok, so what can ya tell me about water ro vs tap and additives

hello everybody
keeping an eye on my params is nothing new to me at all, I have been keeping a SW tank now for a few years, the thing I would like to ask is about tap water vs RO water, I have seen on other threads talking about doing a 50/50 mix of RO and tap, is the the best way to go ? and how can I test my tap water to see if would really need be done ?
I do not have an RODI unit, always wanted one but .....well I'm sure ya know how that goes ....lol
Also what additive should I add if any to my tap water ?
Now along the lines of testing I have a pinpoint for my PH, and have always used Salifert test kits for my cal and alk, is Salifert the way to go for FW ?
and if so what all should I be testing for ?
thanks again for all your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-14-2004, 04:41 AM
BSS

PTrader: (12/100%)
Tap water is much easier and a heck of a lot cheaper, so why not go with it? I guess if you have some nasty, local tap water you might want to use some RO. But, the water params will tell you that. From a tap water perspective, you'll mainly need to know the KH and the GH. Let the tap water sit out for 24 hours for any residual gases (e.g. CO2) to leach out. The KH and an assumed CO2 level of around 3 should predict where your PH is sitting. If not, that's something else to look further into.

As to ongoing tests once you get the plants going, you'll want PH (so you can bounce against KH to determine CO2 levels), nitrate (NO3) and phosphate (PO4). Don't bother with an iron/Fe test kits.