New JBJ Picotope- plant/light questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-31-2010, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face New JBJ Picotope- plant/light questions

I just ordered a 3 gallon jbj picotope to have on my desk at work (I need a "happy place!"). I'm new to all of this (so pretty please keep responses somewhat simple). I had a 10 gallon tank when I was 12 with a goldfish, but that's about it. I'm looking at keeping a betta in the tank, and possibly a couple ghost shrimp (open to advice/recommendations on that).

I really love the look of narrowleaf microsword, and was hoping to have that carpeting the bottom. The problem is, the light that comes with the tank is 9 watts. Is that going to be sufficient light for planting, or will I need a different bulb/fixture? I admit I wasn't planning on doing any planting when I first came up with the idea of a tank at work- but after seeing all of your beautiful pictures I can't imagine NOT planting.

Also- I can't seem to find a straight answer on how high the microsword grows. With a small tank I don't want something that would get super high and take up too much of the space, right? An inch or two seems like it would be perfect? Also thinking of adding a custom lid to the tank.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-31-2010, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

One more thing- what type of substrate would you guys recommend? Something special or would sand be ok?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-01-2011, 01:59 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (5/100%)
I recently set up a 3G Picotope. I really love this little tank. I'm very pleased with it. I'm not sure about that particular plant but it would work well for a Betta. You could check out the sticky in the lighting forum but I'm using low light plants in my tank. I did change out the stock bulb for a mini aqualight bulb.