Please Experts... What next?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-20-2010, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Please Experts... What next??

This is my first try at a higher-tech tanks and from everything I've been reading as a lurker here leads me to believe things are not bad and could be much better. None of my plants are dying, but none are growing great either.

It's a standard 29 gallon (30"x12" footprint)

I'm running pressurized co2 with a red sea regulator and needle valve and a glass/ceramic diffuser, and the drop checker is constant green. I run it 24/7 and the fish have been completely unaffected.

I'm using 4 24w T5HO bulbs, 2x10000k, 1 6000k, one that doesn't say - it's purplish in colour and just says stuff about being good for plants.

The substrate is about 3 inches of ecocomplete.

I'm currently dosing 2ml of seachem flourish every 3 days.

Algae growth is constant but not problematic - it's a fuzzy, bright green, fairly stubborn type algae.

Now the plants are doing well, bright green and sprite, but I don't feel there is enough growth happening, in somecases not at all.

---
What I bought as dwarf hairgrass I now believe to be pygmy chain sword - it is in good condition and growing in steadily but gradually.

I have a couple types of anubius which are maintaining ok, but no new growth and the one new leaf I've gotten from them is all curled up.

I have a melon sword that grows in red leaves that turn green - this is the most successful plant in the tank - I had to prune it of most of it's leaves but it's got several new ones growing in - but I don't know if it is normal for the new leaves to come in rippled - the few mature leaves it has are flat.

I have corkscrew valisneria which is nice and green and not growing at all, never mind spreading.

I have a fairly scrawny brown wendtii that is existing fine but not growing new foliage or spreading.