when do you clean your ehiems? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question when do you clean your ehiems?

Im new to the filter ehiem. ( sorry if i spelled it wrong)
I was wondering how often you should clean them out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 12:37 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (16/100%)
It depends on your bioload. Most places recommend cleaning them once every three months.

Having a higher-tech tank will not allow for laziness when it comes to cleaning the filter. It can (and does, as I found out) lead to algae blooms.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. - Rita Mae Brown

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 01:11 AM
Algae Grower

Personally I try to clean mine every 30-45 days. I replace the fine filter pad and flush the rest out with clean water (dechlorinated or RO). I have 2 on a heavily stocked 125gallon, high-tech. I split it up so that I do one every couple of weeks. Depends a lot on bio-load as was already stated.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 01:20 AM
Algae Grower

Question

It is a "Depend upon" answer.

If its small Eheim filter (they make several types and models) I would suggest weekly if its a large Canister type monthly.

I have a Eheim Pro11 for a 5ft tank and it is cleaned monthly.

I also have a HOB filter (non Eheim) and it is cleaned weekly.

It also depends on what is in the tank as well.

Keith
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 01:30 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (40/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captivate05 View Post
Having a higher-tech tank will not allow for laziness when it comes to cleaning the filter. It can (and does, as I found out) lead to algae blooms.