• 2 Post By IntotheWRX
  • 2 Post By Oughtsix
  • 2 Post By M Allred

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 04:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Considering first planted tank

Hello all, new to the forum, I have been involved with aquaria for nearly 50 years and have done multiple setups both fresh and marine over the years but have always been interested in a planted freshwater tank. I have been doing marine and reef tanks for the last 30 years exclusively so its been a while since I've done a freshwater tank. I currently have a 180 euro braced standard reef tank with a central overflow and returns on each side that I will be breaking down and putting into storage until I move. Is this tank, setup with a wet dry/sump a good choice for an planted tank or should I be looking at an entirely new system? Is anybody still using wet dry filtration? Is UV sterilization beneficial on planted tanks? Are powerheads needed or would return pumps give enough flow? I'm running LED lighting in the reef, does this work well for plants as well?

I'm looking at a plant heavy aquascape with CO2 injection and a mix of South American fish; tetras, apistos, and maybe an angelfish pair and some dwarf corys and otos. Any advise would be helpful as I am just seeking information and learning all I can about these setups. Thanks in advance. -Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 02:20 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by altummagnus View Post