Please help: A Nicely Planted Kribensis (P. pulcher) breeding tank at *my* work - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-15-2017, 03:06 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Please help: A Nicely Planted Kribensis (P. pulcher) breeding tank at *my* work

Hi guys!

I'm a noob to planted tanks, but not exactly a noob to aquariums, and I absolutely love the little Kribs, Pelvicachromis pulcher. Over the years I've had many pairs of these fish lay eggs, and indeed I've even managed to raise a few babies here and there without really trying. Tonight, I took in a proven male/female pair, and I'd really like to try to not only breed these fish, but really do it right, and raise the fry. I would also like to do a nicely planted tank as I think these fish do well with some plants, and I want this tank to look very, very good.

Now here's the catch; Despite having a degree in biology and chemistry, I currently am a store manager for a local chain of Lawn & Garden/Pet/Equine/Wild Bird/ Etc. stores located in my part of New York State. Because of my background keeping aquariums as well as reptiles, dogs, cats, and other animals I am VERY active in our store's pet department. Currently, our live animals consist of about 50 or so fish tanks (all fresh water), a dozen or so reptiles like bearded dragons and ball pythons, a handful of basic birds, and then the obligatory bunnies, guinea pigs, hamsters, ferrets, chinchillas, mice, rats, and more. Definitely no live dogs or cats, though we sponsor adoptions, and we welcome them in the store. We are far from one of the real nice, contemporary pet stores, we are more old fashioned, and to make matters worse our building is old and is constantly fighting us, but I want everyone to know that I work my butt off making sure we are keeping our tanks and cages as clean as possible, and our animals in the best condition as I possibly can.