Plants not doing well in Cycling tank. - The Planted Tank Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-04-2017, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Plants not doing well in Cycling tank.

Hi, I'm new to fish keeping and planted aquariums and this forum so please go easy on me please lol.

I have a cheap 10 gallon starter kit that I am doing a fish-less Cycle on that is planted. I am using Eco Complete Substarate and have several species of plants in the tank. I set my tank up about a week and a half ago and the plants were all doing wonderful until I added the Ammonia to start the cycle.

I am using Bottled Spring Water ( my tap is horrible and I was told for my betta it would be safest).
cheap hooded led Light is on 12-14 hours a day. it says 1.5 watt
Water temp stays steady at 78 maybe 2-3 higher or lower.
PH is 8.0-8.2 in the middle
Ammonia is 4ppm
Nitrites are 0
haven't tested for Nitrates because the ammonia has not gone down at all.

I have 2 Java Fern, 4 Anacharis, Anubis Nana, water wisteria and repens.
repens are translucent and look as though they will fall apart if touch them, but roots look ok.
Nana is turning brown and almost melting but rhizome and roots also look ok
anacharis are turning a lighter green to browm, growing long white roots from several places and some new growth on one plant.
Java ferns look like they are doing ok but the roots look slightly brown (dont know is thats normal)
water westeris is shrivling and turning browns and the roots look kindy mushroomy ( like brown spongy kinda)

I also have the same Anacharis in my current 3.5 gallon the betta is in and they are doing fantastic.

I Dont know what to do to save my plants? I started this tank for my son and just lost my job so I would like to save them and do the best I can for them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-04-2017, 11:34 PM
Algae Grower