Aquarium Pots Question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-01-2017, 01:57 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (5/100%)
Aquarium Pots Question

I am planning a 180 bare bottom aquarium with large fish. The bottom will be covered in tile or slate. I would like to diy some pots out of the tile. This will prevent flow from the sides although it may get some from the top. Is this fine? Also, the pots will probably be 8 inch by 8 inch for Amazon swords and a couple 8 inch by 4 inch for some crinum and tall Crypts. Is it a problem having the pots 4-6 inches high with 3-5 inches of substrate to provide more area for roots? I think with the heavy root based plants, this should provide enough space and the roots should mix the soil enough to not cause issues. If anyone has any tips it would be greatly appreciated.

Attached are some pictures of my general thoughts. Ignore the crappy drawings lol...I'm an engineer. The tank shot is a 75 gallon I setup to get the plants to root. This should help provide perspective of the wood size and layout, just spread out over 2 more feet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170930_215212_1506822853624.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	793457  

Name:	15068228759221562156042_1506822904792.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	793465  

Name:	20170930_214132_1506822928945.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	793473  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-01-2017, 01:52 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)