I can't figure this out. - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-23-2017, 01:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I can't figure this out.

I've been fighting this for about 4 months now and I do not know what else to do. I am currently down to 8 hours of light and just a touch under two Buble's per second of co2. I just recently upgraded to a compressed co2 set up so my co2 should be much more consistent now. My tank is a 40 gallon breeder the reason it got out of hand was because I was gone for a month for work. I started dosing flourish excel a week ago 1 cap per day but the algae is still getting worse. I've also been dosing regular flourish on a regular basis. The light I am using is a beamswork da fspec with is suppose to be capable of just under 50 par at full depth based on what I read on someone's tests on this site. Any help would be greatly apriciated. Sorry this is scattered Just trying to think through the Coming questions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0256_1506130928165.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	791938  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-23-2017, 02:02 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
50 PAR at the bottom is almost high light as soon as you get 4-6 inches off the bottom. You are too focused on trying to get rid of the algae when you can focus on the plants. This hair algae from experience will grow when plant growth is slowed significantly by lack of nutrients or CO2 and when you have too strong of a light. The algae is basically feeding of the nutrients from the plants and using it to grow since the plants can't use the nutrients properly since one nutrient is not available for growth (liebig's law).