2Likes
  • 2 Post By PlantedRich
  • 2 Post By PlantedRich

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Ph and co2

Hi all I'm a newbie !! I've just converted my 180l tank to pressurised co2 through a ph controller using tropica aquarium soil. Ive only just got it up and running in the last few hours of posting. With the soil not being inert I've had a drop in ph so my co2 won't come on I've got it set at 6.8 ph currently 6.6. I've read that the ph will increase with water changes? I'm using a drop checker with 4dkh solution which is green but I don't think green enough. I've tested the kh and gh with an api test kit kh=8 gh=15 is this ok? Thanks any help will be greatly appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 02:20 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
I recommend not trying to move the numbers as what you have is okay. Keep in mind that there are plants growing in every type of water and many do fine in water which hobbyists might call "wrong".
I no longer use a drop checker as it is very slow to react to change and the controller will do whatever you set it to do.
I do recommend calibrating the controller occasionally as they do drift and things like algae on the probe will change the readings.
When setting up new tanks with controller or adding CO2 to tanks with fish, I work the CO2 content down very slowly over several days to let the fish adapt to the new conditions. If I see them acting "off" I back off the CO2 for a bit. That leaves me using the controller and fish rather than drop checkers.
ChrisX and ChrisX like this.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thankyou so much for the info.. Am I right in saying that because of the levels of the ph ang kh my plants don't need co2 at the moment? Resulting in the controller not turning the co2 on? Thanks again