CO2 for a 110 Gallon Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By DaveK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 03:25 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question CO2 for a 110 Gallon Planted Tank

Hello everyone,

I am new here so forgive me if my question has been answered in another post (I am sure it has, but in my searches I couldn't find exactly what I was looking for).

I have a 110 gallon planted tank, and I have a major black beard algae problem. I have never needed a CO2 diffuser before, but I read that black beard is caused by a lack of CO2 in comparison to the amount of light being given off by your aquarium lights. I have also read that a 110 gallon tank needs a lot of CO2 in order to balance.

Does anybody know a good solution for me? I was looking at different diffusers, and some people recommended Mazzei products, but I am new to this and am not totally sure what I need. How much would I be looking to pay in terms of upkeep and initial cost for running CO2?

Thanks in advance,

Jake
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-16-2017, 05:26 PM
Wannabe Guru

I think your best solution is pressurized CO2, using a CO2 reactor. In a large tank you may need quite a lot of CO2 and that's going to be fairly hard to do with any on the various diffusers available. You can build a DIY CO2 reactor for very little money. Here is a thread that describes it - https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/20...x-reactor.html

If you not the DIY type you can get a read made one. Here is an example of that, but shop around first - https://www.amazon.com/Sera-Flore-Ac.../dp/B0033GDCVC
I use one of these on my 90 gal planted tank.

To give you a rough idea of costs, figure about $100 to $150 for a CO2 tank. Figure anout $100 to about 250 for a regulator, solenoid, needle valve and bubble counter. You can spend more on this, so shop around, carefully considering quality in addition to price.