2Likes
  • 2 Post By CricketMcLean
  • 2 Post By CricketMcLean

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First "dirt" tank

Hi. This is my first time posting but I have read several threads when Google search reveals them to me I am getting some Ellasoma and was told a dirted tank was best so I layed about 1.5" of miracle grow organic potting soil then about .75" of pool filter sand followed by 1" of pea gravel in a 10g tank. Tho I am not required to use a filter I plan to put a small internal filter in to move the water because I'm averse to air pumps. I planted as many plants as I have available but I have a few more on order. I hadn't read about the walstad method and just found that I should have mixed clay in the soil. I also didn't wet and dry it several times. How disastrous is this mistake? Also how is cycling done? At this time I have only a nerite snail in tank. I have 2 clamp lamps over it, both 75 watts. 1 is a 6500k and 1 is a full spectrum daylight reptile bulb. Can anyone tell me if this lighting will be sufficient and what problems I may encounter? Also I would appreciate any advice in general or to correct my mistakes. I haven't ordered my fish yet if I must begin again but I'm surely hoping I won't need to. I would post a pic but I don't see the option :/ Thank you so much.
Also I can't figure out how to update my location. I'm in Phoenix Arizona and I will update as soon as I figure out how.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 06:36 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Hello and welcome to The Community.

I'll give my opinion for some of the questions you are asking but remember there is no one way to succeed with an aquarium.