CO2 getting released from pressure relief valve - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2017, 03:19 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
CO2 getting released from pressure relief valve

I have recently purchased a filled CO2 from a local place where I live. I was lent a regulator in the mean time till I get my aquatek premium co2 regulator so I'm not sure of the brand. When I open the CO2 tank if I even open it the slightest and the pressure goes past 0-5 it gets released from the pressure relief valve. I'm fairly new to pressurized CO2 so i'm not exactly sure what to look for or what to do. The CO2 tank is 10lbs. The left gauge is the one I can make go over 5
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5379_1504840723239.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	787649  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi apisto guy,

Welcome to TPT!

The regulator is bad, depending upon the type of pressure relief on the regulator it should not vent unless the tank pressure is 1600 - 4500 psi. Guess that is why the regulator was a 'loaner'......take it back and ask for another loaner or wait until your new one arrives.

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

75 Gallon, 2X55W AH Supply CF 8800K, 1X 59W Fluval Plant (3.0); 45 Gallon Tall, 1X 46W Fluval Plant (3.0); 30 Gallon Long; Fluval F&P 2.0; 20 Gallon, 1X26W AH Supply LED; all with CO2 & (Calcined) Montmorillonite Clay
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2017, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

There is no possible way to fix it or use it? He had 2 loaners we tried both they both did the same thing. I thought maybe it had to do with the solenoid at one point.