my first real planted tank! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-24-2010, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face my first real planted tank!

hi im new to the forum so i would firstly like to say hello to the planted tank community, hello

i need help with a tank i decided to set up a few weeks back. i have 20 years experience with fish keeping and i did have a planted tank when i was about 12 and they all died so i went back to plastic lol.

15 years on i have decided to turn a tank i had sitting round into a planted tank and give aquascaping a go so here goes brace yourself lol

i have a 3f by 1ft by 1ft that has a built in hood the light i feel personally is insufficient but hopefully you can help with that it currently has a 25w (18000k) light in the hood as it only houses one, ( im thinking about going for a light i can sit on top but im new to all this lol.

my set up consists of plants i was able to order online or get from my lfs.

i use tetraplant completesubstrate (2inches thick) fertilise with plantamin liquid fertisliser and also crypto root fertiliser, i dont use co2 as im confused about it, not by its purpose but set up and plant requirments. so i dont bother to use it, i have a co2 reader though and its too much in the morning (yellow) and just right at night (green) on top of the 2inch layer completesubstrate i have a tiny gravel i believe its about 1-2 mm thick.

when i cry (quite litrally) lol to my partner about my plants and stuff he just goes "dunno " lol so im coming here for help hoping you fine professionals can help me

ill try my best to name the plants i have currently but im not 100 % on some of them:

java fern x1
anubias nana x2
amazon swords x2
ludgwia red x1
bamboo shoots x 5 (i think )
madacascar lace x1
malayan aqua fern x1
2x spirilis type (tiny)
Cabomba Australis or a similar species x1
Hemianthus callitrichoides x 2