New To Freshwater Tropical Fish and Wanting Advice on Lighting - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-20-2017, 02:31 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New To Freshwater Tropical Fish and Wanting Advice on Lighting

Hi All,

I am new to keeping tropical freshwater fish and have recently purchased a 50L Blue Planet fish tank secondhand with 13 tertras, 3 guppys, a fighting fish, and a catfish. The tank was initially pretty dirty so I have given it a good clean and they all seem happy at the moment.

The tank came with some live plants (java moss, java fern, and another plant that I cannot identify). Currently, the light above the tank is the standard Blue Planet 11W AA11W-e27 globe that comes with the tank.

I am wondering if that is enough light to make sure the plants are healthy and growing, and was hoping to get your knowledgeable advice on an alternative bulb that I might be able to replace it with? In its current position, the tank is not really getting much daylight so any help would be great!

I have attached a photo of the tank in its current condition to this post.

Thanks!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fish tank.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	782777  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-21-2017, 07:22 PM
Algae Grower

The plants you have in your Aquarium are low light plants. Therefore the light you have will be fine.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-21-2017, 07:53 PM
Algae Grower

If you do plan on having plants with different requirements. the right back side of your tank looks pretty dark. so, in that case, you'd have to replace it I think.
but for now looks nice. also good job on the cleaning that tank looks crystal clear.

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-21-2017, 08:02 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by bozatron View Post
Hi All,