Planning to get back into the hobby, i have a few questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-07-2017, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Planning to get back into the hobby, i have a few questions

First off, hi everyone

I'm planning to get back into the hobby and I have a few questions regarding my plan.
I've had 10 Gallon and a 20 gallon tank before with some guppies/betta's. However this time I want to start a planted tank with some hardscaping and I want to include a Sump.

I've never done any plumbing before and recently did an impulse buy at Petco for a 20 gallon long at their dollar per gallon sale for the sump.
Now after purchasing the tank I ran into my first problem. How on earth am I going to get this sump in a cabinet of sorts?

The tank I was intending to get is an ADA 60U 20.5 gallon
Now I can buy a cabinet that fits this tank but thinking about that, the 20 gallon long is never going to fit in the cabinet that perfectly fits the tank.

So my first question is how big should my main aquarium be to fit this sump.

My second question is: I travel for my work 4 days a week, so I'm not home between Mondays and Thursdays, is it feasible to even set-up a tank since I can't do water changes for 4 days? once the tank is cycled I don't envision this being a problem.

Regarding the sump itself, i was planning on having a refugium in there because i like the concept of it and it could be a nice spot to put a fish that's not having a great time in the aquarium or acclimate them to the aquarium. Also are there any resources towards "calculations" of the sump compartments to reduce "flooding" my main tank, i found one for water flow i was more looking to wards the compartment where the pump will be, how high should the baffle be and how much water should be the maximum for that particular spot.