How long can I leave my fish in a bucket? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2017, 04:40 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
How long can I leave my fish in a bucket?

I'm planning a major rescape on my 90 gal. The tank has been up and running for about 8 months now. I'm finally to the point where I'm comfortable with which plants I can grow well, and have a vision in mind for a dedicated scape, rather than the thrown together mess I have now.

The rescape will be all plants out, all wood and rocks out, changing the contour of substrate. New wood and rocks in, and a full replanting of existing plants, and some new ones. I'm guessing this might take me 6hrs or so, maybe more, I'm not sure as I've never done anything like this before.

With this much mucking around I definitely want my fish out of the tank for their safety and ease of working.

My current stock includes

7 4-5" discus
3 dawf gourami
6 Cory
3 GBR
1 vampire pleco

Is it realistic to keep my fish in a 5 gal bucket with heater for this project? Do I need to add an airstone or filtration? I don't have any other tanks other than a 2 gal QT, and my 20gal sump, which is chambered. With as much change as I'm making in the display tank, the idea of removing the filter media, and placing fish in the sump just sounds like asking for trouble.

Thoughts and advice on this would be very welcomed. I don't want to put my fish at risk. I've grown out my discus from quarter size, and would be devistated to lose them.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-03-2017, 04:52 AM
Planted Tank Guru

I would use 20 gal or larger plastic tote (Walmart) with heater and air stone plus some filter material from your sump.
Should not take more than a couple hour's if your not removing substrate.