Fluval Cycle - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Highseq

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2017, 01:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Cycle

Hi everyone, I'm new to the page and wanted to ask if anybody has used Fluval Cycle to kickstart a cycle with fish, and if you have how did it work out for you. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2017, 12:52 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Planttank97 View Post
Hi everyone, I'm new to the page and wanted to ask if anybody has used Fluval Cycle to kickstart a cycle with fish, and if you have how did it work out for you. Thanks!
I tried it but I prefer using Prodibio Biodigest which in my opinion is by far the best bacterial product out there. I supplement it with Seachem Stability and Seachem Pristine.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2017, 01:21 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Planttank97 View Post
Never used the fluval one, but I have used seachem stability and I felt like it helped to reduce the cycle time but this is purely anecdotal. I think most of these "bacteria in a bottle" type products supply the bacteria in an inactive state and it requires a bit of time for them to become active and start multiplying.

At worst I don't think these products will do any harm, but I think the fastest way to cycle a tank is adding substrate or filter media to your new tank from an existing established tank. Of course, this is only if you have access to one...

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2017, 01:45 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highseq View Post
Never used the fluval one, but I have used seachem stability and I felt like it helped to reduce the cycle time but this is purely anecdotal. I think most of these "bacteria in a bottle" type products supply the bacteria in an inactive state and it requires a bit of time for them to become active and start multiplying.