Cycling new tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-01-2017, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cycling new tank

Hi. I'm new to plant tanks so this may be a very rudimentary question. I am cycling my tank with fish and wanted to know if the rising ammonia levels are dangerous to the fish and if I should be doing water changes instead of letting the cycle run and letting the biology build up. Should I do anything to counteract the ammonia or just let the cycle continue on its own? My ammonia level is at .5ppm, Nitrites are 0 and Nitrates are 0, pH is at 7.3,dKH is 4, and the tank is 16 gallons at 78 degrees. I appreciate any advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-03-2017, 12:34 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Planttank97 View Post
Hi. I'm new to plant tanks so this may be a very rudimentary question. I am cycling my tank with fish and wanted to know if the rising ammonia levels are dangerous to the fish and if I should be doing water changes instead of letting the cycle run and letting the biology build up. Should I do anything to counteract the ammonia or just let the cycle continue on its own? My ammonia level is at .5ppm, Nitrites are 0 and Nitrates are 0, pH is at 7.3,dKH is 4, and the tank is 16 gallons at 78 degrees. I appreciate any advice!

Hi, I had the same issue but was a fish less cycle.

Don't let ammonia go above this. Just to confirm is it 0.5ppm? These can sometimes be a little out as it's not always easy to determine the exact colour of the API test kits.

Have you got any Seachems Prime? I would dose this daily as it makes the ammonia safe for fish but still available to bio.

What substrate do you have?