3Likes
  • 4 Post By FloydFan78
  • 2 Post By FloydFan78

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-2017, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help Needed (and appreciated!!)

Hello folks! I have been lurking about the forums for quite some time, reading posts and journals, and finally decided to register and get some advice from you seasoned planted tank veterans! Having said that, this is my first official post on the planted tank forums!! (I actually created this post in the low tech forum a couple weeks ago, but only got one response on it. I'm reposting it here in the general forum in the hopes that I get some more input.).

I am relatively new to planted tanks. I currently have a 5 gallon planted betta tank (home to my boy, Big Blue) as well as a planted 29 gallon community tank. Neither of these tanks had any real thought put in to them - i kinda just saw plants at the LFS that I thought looked nice and then threw them in the tanks. The good news is, I haven't killed any of the plants yet. They don't look as nice as some of the tanks I have seen on this site, but the fish are happy so that's the most important thing to me

I am putting together a new tank, and have been a bit more meticulous on my fish and plant choices. I am doing a very loose variation of a South East Asia theme (I don't want to call it a biotope, because it isn't). Rather than a specific habitat (ie: backwater stream/brackish mangrove/fast flowing river etc etc....) I am basically choosing pants and fish that can be found in any habitat of SE Asia, so it will be more of a mash up of a SE Asia community tank I guess??